Jean-Philippe Mateta forced to retake Crystal Palace penalty against Man Utd following major rule change

JEAN-PHILIPPE MATETA was forced to retake his penalty against Man Utd.

The Crystal Palace striker was bundled over by Lenny Yoro midway through the first-half of Sunday lunchtime’s showdown at Selhurst Park.

Crystal Palace v Manchester United - Premier League
Jean-Philippe Mateta’s double touch sparked a retakeCredit: Getty
NINTCHDBPICT001042141973
VAR officials ordered the Crystal Palace star to retake his penaltyCredit: TNT Sports

He coolly slotted home the first attempt, sending Senne Lammens the wrong way, before VAR intervened.

Mateta was deemed by the video assistant to have double-touched the ball, prompting cheers from the travelling United faithful.

But their joy was swiftly muted as Mateta again scored his spot kick.

Fans were quick to point out a similar incident earlier this year, that prompted football lawmakers into changing the rules.

‘LION-HEARTED’

Legendary former West Ham player and manager Billy Bonds dies aged 79


BEAUTY

Win a 2025 Volkswagen Tiguan + £2,000 cash or £33k cash from just 21p with our code

Atletico Madrid were knocked out of the Champions League last-16 in March when a Julian Alavarez spot-kick was ruled out for the exact same offence.

The former Man City man slipped when running up to take the penalty, and touched the ball with both feet.

VAR ultimately deemed the kick to be illegal and a goal kick was given.

The outrage that preceded the Alvarez controversy prompted the International Football Asssociation Board (IFAB) to change the rules.

A goal kick was given at the time, but a retake must now take place.

Law 14 states: “The penalty taker inadvertently hits the ball with both feet simultaneously or the ball touches his supporting foot or leg just after taking the kick: If the ball enters the goal, it will be repeated.

“If the ball does not enter the goal, an indirect free kick will be awarded (unless the referee grants an advantage when the action clearly benefits the defending team) or, in the case of penalty shoot-outs, the shot will be recorded as missed.”

Meanwhile, if a player voluntarily kicks with both feet, the alternative rule states: “An indirect free kick will be awarded (unless the referee grants an advantage when the action clearly benefits the defending team) or, in the case of penalty shoot-outs, the shot will be recorded as missed.”

Source link

Related Posts

Load More Posts Loading...No More Posts.